Spicy BBQ Kale Chips

 

kale bowl

Last weekend, I headed to the rural part of North Jersey to spend some quality time with my parents while the hubby did some work in NYC.  My parents were thrilled to see us especially since it meant seeing their granddaughter, T.

The weekend was relaxing but short.  Most of the socializing was done at the table  –my favorite place to socialize.  Saturday I had lunch with my mom and her girlfriends, affectionately known as “The Bullies” at the local cafe.  That evening, we went to a friend’s home for dinner and drinks.  I tried uni, squid ink pasta and halva for the first time.  All interesting and delicious.

There was some snacking in between all of the feasting.  I raided my parents kitchen looking for nosh.  I found the perfect snack–Brad’s Raw Leafy Kale (Nacho flavored).  They were crispy and packed with flavor.

I have made kale chips before–an easy and simple recipe. I usually only lightly season it with salt and pepper.  I thought I ought to be more adventurous.  Inspired by Brad’s nacho flavored kale chips, I decided to seek my own flavor packed kale snack.

Spicy BBQ kale chips was the obvious answer.

Obvious because my husband is a partner at Bill’s Best Organic BBQ Sauces.  We always have kale and BBQ sauce in our fridge.  Why haven’t I thought of this before?

kale ingredients

 

This snack is not only yummy but easy.  Some grocery stores carry bags of kale that is already pre-washed and cut so most of the work is done for you. A few things to consider: Oven temperatures vary so you will have to keep a close eye on the chips or they will easily over cook i.e. burn.  In order to achieve a nice crispy texture without the chips burning you will have to consider how much BBQ sauce to use to coat the kale.  I recommend taking a paper towel and thoroughly drying the kale before dressing it with the BBQ sauce.  I recommend 1-2 tablespoons but start with 1 tablespoon then add the second if you feel there isn’t enough sauce coating the kale. Too much moisture will keep the kale from getting crispy.

You will need:

  • 6 cups Kale (remove thick stems and cut into chip sized pieces)
  • 1-2 TB spicy BBQ sauce (of course I highly recommend Bill’s Best BBQ)
  • Sea Salt to taste

kale raw

Then…

  • Preheat oven to 350
  • Line two baking sheets with parchment paper or baking mat.
  • Toss kale and BBQ sauce until kale is evenly coated.
  • Evenly distribute Kale onto baking pan and sprinkle with salt.
  • Bake for 15 mins.  Check kale for crispiness.  Bake longer if needed.
  • Allow to cool for a few minute before devouring.

Kale roasted

 

kale roasted 2

 

Inspiration

http://www.bradsrawchips.com/

http://www.billsbestbbq.com/

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

