Snapshots of Summer

Hello, hello, hello!

It’s been a long time since my last post.  Spring and summer have been very busy since I started a full-time job after being home with my sweet daughter (and working part-time) for many amazing months.  In March, I was thrilled to accept a position as a baker and sales representative at a bakery in the Mt. Airy neighborhood of Philadelphia.  I’m so grateful for this wonderful opportunity!

Here’s a collage of my summer, highlights of what I’ve been up to and of course, what I have been eating.  Enjoy!

IMG_4830
IMG_4876

IMG_4909

IMG_4952

IMG_4974

IMG_5163

IMG_5180

IMG_5190IMG_5214SmittysFerrisgelato

  1. Two of my favorite combinations: prosecco and the back porch of my dearest friend’s home.  I’m loving this bottle of bubbles.
  2.  Weekend ritual of green smoothies and watching the choo choo trains.  There’s a charming little cafe located at one of the nearby train stations and little T loves their green smoothies.  We did a 30 day green smoothie challenge in July and T happily participated.
  3.  The bouquets for the bride and bridesmaids of my friend’s wedding.  Flowers were arranged by family and friends.
  4. We went on a nature walk and foraged along the way collecting wineberries.  These sweet little hands helped too.
  5. My friends live in the city and have a thriving apricot tree in their little back court yard.  They invited us to pick some of the fruit.  We went home with 25lbs of apricots and barely made a dent in that tree.
  6. Evening stroll down the street. We live in a mid-century modern neighborhood that was built on what was the grounds of a Gilded Age mansion, designed by Horace Trumbauer.  The statues in my neighborhood are remnants of the gardens.
  7.  10lbs of blackberries about to become jam.  My husband and I are huge fans of the Food in Jars blog.  Try the peach jam recipe–you won’t regret it.
  8. A  birthday tradition. We celebrated T’s 2nd birthday this summer.  On her birthday (this year and last) I presented her with a blank canvas and paints to create her birthday masterpiece.  I love it.  It’s a fun way to commemorate the day.  (first birthday to the left, second birthday to the right)
  9. My little gardener.  She’s been spending a lot of time at grandma’s house and therefore spending a lot of time in the vegetable garden.
  10. We spent a couple days at Ocean City, NJ.  I wish I could eat fried calamari and corn fritters everyday.
  11. My hubby and I went on out first ferris wheel ride together–good old fashioned romantic fun on the boardwalk.
  12. We celebrated the final weeks of summer with homemade lemon-orange gelato.  I love gelato. I love gelato. I looooove gelato. Did you know there’s less fat in gelato than ice cream? So it’s way better for you.

Other summer obsessions and ideas…

  • My new favorite coffee drink is Vietnamese iced coffee.  It’s so yummy. Just the right amount of sweetness. I blame my place of employment for this new addiction–I have convenient access to two coffee shops and all the coffee I would ever need. Coffee. Coffee. Coffee.
  • I know I’m late to the party but I’m obsessed with zoodles!! My mother-in-law has been so generous in sharing her garden bounty—which means an abundance of zucchini.  So I bought one of these and can’t stop using it.

Thanks for stopping by!  Enjoy the rest of your summer.

Leave a Reply

